PDA

View Full Version : spec u-net.com



george
19-05-05, 04:21 PM
Whenever I come here from the link in BCUK I get a pop up window that looks like a log in window asking for my user name and password. It seems to be from Spec U-Net.com.

Is this anything to do with the board or is there someone out there phishing?

George

MotorbikeMan
19-05-05, 07:07 PM
Hmm, seems odd, I've just logged out and then come back in but no sign of any login box.

MartYYYYYYYYNNNNNNN?? :huh:

Rogue
19-05-05, 08:53 PM
Odd.

I would normally say spyware or adware.

The spec.u-net.com website links to a site dealing with kites and what appears to be a band called Cardiac Arrest. Not obvious adware/spyware material as they don't appear to be selling porn, pharmaceuticals or snake-oil software. Still, treat with caution!

I would run a spyware scanner of some kind just to be safe. If you run Windows XP, Microsoft have released a free scanner that is actually pretty good (considering it's Microsoft, though in all fairness it was developed by someone else and got "MSsimilated"). Should be linked to and downloadable from the main MS website. Currently "free" in the MS sense of the word :D

Roger Gregory
19-05-05, 09:02 PM
It definitely has no connection with British Blades.

Sounds very much like you've collected some crudware....

Roger

Martyn
19-05-05, 09:22 PM
Whenever I come here from the link in BCUK I get a pop up window that looks like a log in window asking for my user name and password. It seems to be from Spec U-Net.com.

Is this anything to do with the board or is there someone out there phishing?

George

Nothing to do with BritishBlades though it may look like it, we dont have this kind of popup. The only popups we have are to do with the cahtroom and PM's. I've seen these things occasionally and they are an exploit of your browser and OS.

george
20-05-05, 11:02 AM
Hmmm

I'm running a pop up blocker, Spybot Search and Destroy, Spyware Blaster and Norton AV. Between that lot I'm usually pretty good at picking up and dealing with any nasties that are out there.

Interesting thing is that I'm getting this popup both at home and at work (two seperate computers) and only when I use the link from BCUK - though it didn't happen today. It's never happened if I come here from my favorites menu either - that takes me right to the forum start page whereas the BCUK link is linked to the main site page. Don't know if that has anything to do with it.

Anyway I shall scan and scan and scan again and see what I can find.

George

KamSingh
20-05-05, 06:02 PM
Wot browser are you using?

george
02-08-05, 02:26 PM
It's doing it again!

It stopped for a while but twice today I've come over from the link at BCUK and its done it both times.

Nowhere else - just when I come here via BCUK link.

If it was spyware I would have thought it would be less specific.

No-one else get this?

George

Danzo
02-08-05, 02:30 PM
Nope, just don't have it here George. Martyn runs a rock solid secure site, as does Tony on BCUK, something is up your end I think.

:S

Danzo

MotorbikeMan
03-08-05, 10:28 AM
I would have a look atsome of the other sites that you regularly visit as it sounds like you may be picking up something from one of them maybe.

george
03-08-05, 12:43 PM
It only happens here and only if I use the BCUK link to here. Not if I come here from anywhere else.

I just noticed as well that it happens after I do a scheduled cleanout that cleans up all the cookies in my browser cache - that means I have to log in here again so possibly something is lurking somewhere on my computer and waiting!!

Ah well

Clean, clean and clean again.

George