• Belt pouch by box construction - Tutorial

So, having been asked to do a WIP on a simple leather belt pouch, I spent this evening with camera peering at me as i worked....
    Now folks, this is just my take on it, I am completly self taught as far as leatherwork is concerned but I have been doing it as a hobby on and off for about 15 years now. This is the methodology that works for me.
    If I am starting a prototype, I will usually play with graph paper first and design by drawing.

This particular pouch is for a 2oz tobacco tin based survival kit. So first we need the dimensions of the tin, in this case 110mmx80mmx25mm. This gives us the basis for the front of the pouch, though we have to add a bit for stitching, 5mm per side. We also dont want the tin to be too tight in the pouch, so lets go for 90mm wide and 110mm tall. This should put the tin poking out very slightly from the top - gives us something to grab hold of. The side tabs also need a stitch allowance so we make those 30mm. The base must match so that also is set at 30mm. The back matches the front so we know that size too. Now the flap. We know the length of the top of the flap, 30mm, but we want the width a bit wider than the pouch so there is a nice overlap so add another 5mm each side, continuing to the front flap. The front flap can be any length you want but I like the rule of thirds and curves, so I made it about two thirds of the length and nicely curved. Then little details are added such as radiusing the back corners of the flap, just as finishing touches.

When I am happy with the design I transfer it to thick card or mount board if I want a more permanent pattern.

This is then cut out and any fold lines are scored to aid folding.