Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Primus Micron Lantern

I see there are 2 versions of these. Either mesh cage, or glass bowl. I presume the mesh version is a tad more rufty tufty and the glass one is a bit brighter. Are there any other differences? Does anyone have any opinions or experience of either?

Info
    Quoth the server: "404."

VIP Member

Re: Primus Micron Lantern

i have the mesh version, and although i have no experience of the glass option, it performs excellently.
    i used to use a Coleman twin mantle lamp, and though the difference in light on paper might be quite considerable, in practice i noticed very little actual difference. i have also owned a generic glass globe lantern that runs off the same gas canisters as the micron, and again, negligible difference.
    in a tent, especially a 2 man, the heat the light gives out is sufficient to not need a separate heater, and with a bit of balancing, a metal cup of water/food can also be heated up - although i believe an adapter can be bought for this purpose(or a Heath-Robinson jobbie should be easy enough to put together)
    it's also pretty economical on the gas, as the output is easily adjusted, and the ignition system is easy to operate, even with gloves on.
    altogether, it's a great light, and i would say get the mesh version, as the 100 or so extra lumens being thrown out by the glass version would be largely dissipated in the open, and wouldn't even be needed in a tent
    If you love something, set it free.
    Unless it's a tiger.

Administrator
    Blog Entries