Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Maker

Building a lifting tripod

I'm picking up a fly press from Stew in a couple of weeks.

I have a pallet truck for moving it but trying to sort out a way of lifting it vertically without spending too much.

Thought about using some 40x40 or 50x50 box section (whichever i still have stock of) to build a tripod with either a winch or block and tackle hanging underneath.

Any design ideas you guys can suggest, i've never done anything like this before.
    Need a way of joining them at the top so they open up

Also I'm guessing some mechanism to stop the legs splaying under the weight (some chain hooked mid way up the legs?)

Can i use a bit of 10mm threaded bar through the top of the middle leg, bent into a hook, to suspend the weight from?
    Last edited by Greenbeast; 13-10-11 at 08:39 AM.

VIP Member

Re: Building a lifting tripod

how big is the flypress, how heavy is it, how high are you lifting it, do you have head room,etc?

At my place I had a flypress (norton No6) delivered on the back of a pickup. The two of us gently slid it down to the ground along a couple of scaffold planks, then a tractor moved it to my workshop (the pick up got to about 100yds away and I don't have a pallet truck, not that it would work in the woods!). The tractor dropped it onto a board about 10yards from its final resting place and I used a lever to move it along the ground towards the table. That was easy, levers are great but you have a pallet truck for that bit.

The roof to my workshop is farily low so I couldn't build a tripod or gantry high enough to winch it up onto the bench and my roof is too light duty to use the rafters to hoist it from. So I lent a plank of oak against the bench and a cheapy handy winch to gradually pull the press up onto a 3foot high bench. It was easy enough to do even on my own, cost nothing and didn't have to build a structure that I had no later need for