Heat Treat for 15N20 and 1075 Damascus ? and performance?

I bet that there a lot you out there who have made lots of knives or whatever out of this combo, so I am hopping that someone can give me some advice (free preferably) as to a good heat treatment. This is my first time damasking this combo. I was thinking that if I quench in Oil that the 1075 would not harden enough, and if I quench in Water that I will jack up the 15N20.
    Also does anyone have a sense of how well 15N20 - 1075 Damascus holds up in terms of edge retention? Nickle is not a carbide forming alloying element and there is not enough free carbon to stay as cementite after quench (?) ... but nickle is very wear resistant by its self...
    I have been welding up a 5 lb billet (400 layers) of this stuff. I was thinking I was going to make a bunch of Chef's Knives with it, but now I am leaning towards maybe a sword or an axe... or both! Unless.....
    I appreciate any advice.
    Thank you,
    Nate

Maker

Re: Heat Treat for 15N20 and 1075 Damascus ? and performance?

here's the datasheet for 15N20 http://www.uddeholm-strip.com/popup/...ring_steel.pdf
    It says 800C for austenising about halfway down the page.

In my pre (modest) damascus days, I made a monosteel knife from this steel a while back to test the steel out, I hardened mine at mine at 810-815.
    Fully hardened it was HRC 62, I tempered it back to about 59/60 and was a wee bit chippy, I re-tempered to 57/57.5 and it was more stable. (
    I made another carving blade at the same time that now resides with a master woodcarver, he reports rolling on very hard woods, but no chipping

1075 , I have only tried in UK equivelants, but it gets plenty hard enough, if you can't make it 60RC after quench I'd be amazed.

Edge retention is not bad, just like 1075! Nothing outstanding, but fair for the majority of jobs.