VIP Member

HT and temper on fillet knife?

As it says really, I am looking to make an 8 inch fillet knife from 01 or D2 and considering its gonna be very thin and it needs to be flexible what advice can I get? Should I leave it about 1 mil for ht and then grind it to finished thickness. What hardness should I aim for as I want it to be very flexible.

VIP Member

Re: HT and temper on fillet knife?

I'm not sure either of those steels will be suitable for a filleting knife...
    Because of the required flexibility I think some kind of spring steel would be more suitable....
    Though I have no personal experience of making a filleting knife, that's just my thoughts....
    "I told him, 'Son, what is it with you??.... Is it ignorance or apathy?' He said, ' I don't know and I don't care.'"
    Checkout maker of the month at....
    http://grommitbaileyknives.com/

I haven't yet made a Filleting knife but I did do some research. Apparently the flexibility is purely down to the thickness of the steel and I understand that some top quality sushi knives are made from O1. I suspect that the success of such a project is down to the HT. I stopped short of making a filleting knife as I currently HT using torches and I was not sure I could HT successfully on something that long and thin. My next workshop project is a HT kiln so I may re-visit a Fillet blade sometime once it is built.

My gut feeling is that the hardness needs to be slightly higher than a thicker blade but as with a lot of these things that could be counter-intuitive and therefore completely wrong!

Good luck

Steve D

VIP Member

I had a nice one in 440C a while ago. The one I had in 1095 was, surprise surprise, rubbish at dealing with salt water, and parts of fish