Thread: Roselli Hunter

Roselli Hunter

I suppose I had better start off with a really warm hello first as I am a new member and this is my first attempt at passing on my opinions /findings.

So hello !

I have just purchased a Roselli hunter from www.Outdoorcode.co.uk ,first let me say what a great guy Andrew is,I found him to be extremely helpful and knowledgeable ,and the fact he answered the phone on a Sunday amazes me .
    I have tried a number of knives ranging from the Frosts ''clipper'' to the classic Mora to a Helle all of which I have bundled away in that drawer which hides many an ill advised/thought out must have {if your married ,you'll understand }.
    The main problem I have found is the handles ,for instance the classic Mora has a very useable blade but the handle hardly seems big enough for a child .
    The Roselli is a different beast ,when you first tear open the package in that ''under control excitement'' the first thing to comment on is the sheath,which is presented in a grain leather in natural colour ,thickness is approx 2.5mm .
    This hugs the knife snuggly around the handle in a Scandi type construction ,it also bears the makers name.
    Pulling the knife carefully from the sheath the pointed shape of the blade can be appreciated ,its 100mm long ,31mm wide at its base tapering off with a graceful curve to a murderous looking apex .
    This in my eyes is a beautiful piece of work ,the steel still holds onto to its forging scale which gives it a natural looking character ,similar to the Gransfor Brux image.
    The blade is 3mm at its base slowly thickening to 4mm at the start off the Scandi grind towards the tip , there is also a''Blood groove''on both sides of the blade running close to its spine ,I'm not entirely taken with this as it reminds me of the tree felling Bowie knives which to be fair look great on
    cowboys but lose their appeal as a useful item when actually used .