Well I am new here !

Hi Guys, I am new to the forum, and yet another daft "forged in fire" have a go hero, with lots of daft questions for you all.
    No experience in forging metal, but I am an experienced welder so I do understand a little about metal, now I want to learn some basic skills.

Youtube has lots of advice from plenty of idiots, so I thought I would join a forum and ask real people with real knowledge.

So here is what I have tried so far, I bought a thermolite block from local DIY shop, drilled a 3 inch hole down the middle of the length of it, bought a cheapo gas burner off ebay and a 0 - 4bar propane reguator, drilled a hole at around 45degree into the block and put the burner though that.

I started very small with a 6 inch bit of steel, 10mm wide 1mm thick, I heated it, bent it to shape, heated it again, oil quenched then used a flame to get a nice deep blue on the steel, it was to make a loading spring for one of my rifles, and it worked fine, impressed with myself for a first ever attempt.

But when I tried a 6 inch 4mm thick flat bar, it was in about 10 mins and didnt even get red, I could not turn up the small burner anymore as it kept blowing itself out.

Now, I am stuck.
    I am guessing the space I am using inside the block is way too small, as is the burner.

So to start with, does anyone have for sale or tell me where I can get a stupid cheap propane burner, or does anyone make then on here ?

Please feel free to give me as much advice as you would like, it's all helpful.

Regards
    Eliminator Guy

Re: Well I am new here !

61 views of this post and not one bit of advice or a welcome, thanks guys, what a happy helpful site this is going to be.

Welcome, I think. Two days is not a long time; not everyone has the skills that allow them to give advice; not everyone logs on everyday.