Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Saw blade knife??

So ofcourse i've heard of making knives from files, bandsaw blades, hacksaw blades and reciprocating saw blades. I'm new at this so ofcourse when you don't have a bunch of money in tools, material, stock and such invested in a brand new hobby, I was just wonding If you can make anything worth while out of saw blades? Circular saw blades? carbide circular saw blades? and what I have on hand, a 12" diamond blade.

Also I always hear talk about old files possibly being good for knives, What about new files?

Re: Saw blade knife??

check out this link, and also th following pics all made from 1 diamond saw from the scrap yard...

http://www.britishblades.com/forums/...ad.php?t=89653

I have a few more also, but I am on to making knives from bearings now... see this link

http://www.britishblades.com/forums/...ad.php?t=89533

I recommend you practice heat treating on a few small pieces of the saw blade you wish to use and get the hang of tempering.
    Every man and his dog has an opinion on how to properly heat treat, and many make good points but as you do not know the exact alloy in your found materials and you are new to this keep it simple. I would suggest heat your sample to a bit past when the steel is no longer magnetic, quench in oil, put in the oven at 200 deg c for one hour, quench in water. test to see how brittle. if too brittle increase the heat of the temper and try again, when you are happy, heat treat your knife the same way.

Good luck and have a go, it is not as hard to do as you may think, It is hard to do really really well, but worry about that later is my advice.

Hope that helps
    Last edited by corinkayaker; 16-10-09 at 06:29 AM.

If you choose your sawblade steel right and are careful in shaping you can skip heat treating all together.

This Maynard Linder knife is made from a bandsaw blade. He simply cuts it out on a shear and shapes it without overheating the steel.